Don't Let the Beasties Escape This Book! by Julie Berry

Don't Let the Beasties Escape This Book! by Julie Berry

Enter for a chance to win one of ten copies of Don’t Let the Beasties Escape This Book!

It’s no ordinary day at the castle! This beautifully illustrated, silly picture book is a fun introduction to the medieval world and the illuminated bestiary

Godfrey, a peasant boy who works for the lord and lady of the castle, finds a bestiary, or illustrated book of beasts, on the way to do his chores one morning. He begins inventing his own story, placing “Sir Godfrey” at the center of numerous heroic deeds. Sir Godfrey battles a lion, tames a unicorn, defeats a griffin, conquers a bonnacon, and triumphs over a dragon. Godfrey does not realize that each time he says the name of an animal, it magically emerges from the book, causing mayhem and inadvertently accomplishing his chores. The laughs pile up and the tension mounts: When will Godfrey realize that all this outrageous stuff is going on?

Don’t Let the Beasties Escape This Book! is a humorous introduction to the medieval world.

Read More »

Hunter Killer by Brad Taylor

Hunter Killer by Brad Taylor

In a world of predators, it's a zero-sum game.
You win or you die.
For Pike Logan, dying isn't an option.

You could win 1 of 100 Advance Reader's Editions of HUNTER KILLER by New York Times bestselling author Brad Taylor!

Pike Logan tracks highly-trained Russian assassins to Brazil in this blistering, action-packed thriller from New York Times bestselling author and former Special Forces Officer Brad Taylor.

Read More »

To Be to Is to Was by Stephen C. Bird

To Be to Is to Was by Stephen C. Bird

Sunnie Deelite and Isabella Gloucester forge their creative identities while fending off the torments of unrequited love. Disillusioned, they say goodbye to Fascibook and polarized Isolamicka and travel to Planet Gorp, where they study synesthesia and meditate with Bastet the Egyptian Cat Goddess. In the Androgynous Galaxy, four intergalactic witches battle for supremacy while back on the Blue Green Planet, Turmerico Inflammatorio wreaks havoc as the leader of turbulent Isolamicka.

Short stories featuring a mix of genres. Alternates between stream of consciousness, linear and non-linear prose. This work incorporates dialogue, monologue, inner monologue, satirical poetry and devices of blatant satire. The text moves back and forth between realism, surrealism and dream-like scenarios. Characters morph in and out of absurd, fantastical and over-the-top situations. Specific themes, concepts and idea fragments are interwoven throughout its chapters. While at first glance not appearing to be linked, ultimately these short stories meld together, lending an informal sense of unity to this book.

Please refer to the Blog Posting on the Stephen C. Bird Author Profile Page for Reviews and Quotes from Goodreads Reviews for "To Be to Is to Was".

Read More »

Santa's Story by Will Hillenbrand

Santa's Story by Will Hillenbrand

Santa is ready to leave on Christmas Eve, but he can’t find the reindeer anywhere. Dasher is busy dashing, Donner is dozing, and Cupid is crooning. It isn’t until Santa remembers their annual tradition—reading a Christmas story together—that the reindeer are ready.

Reindeer merriment abounds in this charming yuletide tale about honoring the celebration of holiday customs with those you love.

Read More »

The Illness Lesson by Clare Beams

The Illness Lesson by Clare Beams

*GALLEY GIVEAWAY*

"Stunningly good--a brainy page-turner that's gorgeous and frightening in equal measure. The Illness Lesson dazzled me."--Leni Zumas, author of Red Clocks

The year is 1871. In Ashwell, Massachusetts, at the farm of Samuel Hood and his daughter, Caroline, a mysterious flock of red birds descends. Samuel, whose fame as a philosopher has waned in recent years, takes the birds' appearance as an omen that the time is ripe for his newest venture. He will start a school for young women, guiding their intellectual development as he has so carefully guided his daughter's. Despite Caroline's misgivings, Samuel's vision--revolutionary, as always; noble, as always; full of holes, as always--takes shape.

It's not long before the students begin to manifest bizarre symptoms. Rashes, fits, headaches, verbal tics, night wanderings. In desperation, the school turns to the ministering of a sinister physician just as Caroline's body, too, begins its betrayal. As the girls' conditions worsens, long-buried secrets emerge, and Caroline must confront the all-male, all-knowing authorities around her, the ones who insist the voices of the sufferers are unreliable. In order to save herself, Caroline may have to destroy everything she's ever known.

Written in intensely vivid prose and brimming with psychological insight, The Illness Lesson is a powerful exploration of women's bodies, women's minds, and the time-honored tradition of doubting both.

Read More »

Elevator Pitch by Linwood Barclay

Elevator Pitch by Linwood Barclay

Enter for the chance to win 1 of 50 Advance Reader's Editions of Linwood Barclay's edge-of-your-seat thriller ELEVATOR PITCH before it goes on sale next month!

“Linwood Barclay is a stone cold pro and Elevator Pitch is a shameless good time.” —Joe Hill, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman

It all begins on a Monday, when four people board an elevator in a Manhattan office tower. Each presses a button for their floor, but the elevator proceeds, non-stop, to the top. Once there, it stops for a few seconds, and then plummets.

It appears to be a horrific, random tragedy. But then, on Tuesday, it happens again, in a different Manhattan skyscraper. And when Wednesday brings yet another high-rise catastrophe, one of the most vertical cities in the world is plunged into chaos.

Clearly, this is anything but random. Fearing for their lives, thousands of men in women working in offices across the city refuse leave their homes. Two seasoned New York detectives and a straight-shooting journalist must race against time to find the answers before the city’s newest, and tallest, residential tower has its Friday night ribbon-cutting.

Pulsating with tension, Elevator Pitch is a riveting tale of psychological suspense that is all too plausible . . . and will chill readers to the bone.

Get ready for the ride of your life.

Read More »

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina  McDonald

10 SIGNED COPIES TO WIN!

"A suspenseful debut that packs an emotional punch." -Kimberly Belle, bestselling author.

An emotionally charged domestic suspense novel in the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia. The Night Olivia Fell is about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

"An emotionally-charged mystery that will leave readers equally gut-wretched and gripped." -Mary Kubica, bestselling author

Read More »

A Violet Fire by Kelsey Quick

A Violet Fire by Kelsey Quick

Enter to win 1 of 25 signed copies of A Violet Fire, months before its release!

"A vampire tale with a heady mix of defiance and doubt, rebellion and romance." — Kirkus Reviews

In the Vampire Stratocracy of Cain, human blood is scarce. For centuries, councils have sought to assuage the blood shortage by enslaving and breeding humans, turning them into profitable supply units for the rich and the abled.

Today, eighteen-year-old Wavorly Sterling is officially a supply unit, bound to serve her blood willingly to her master for the rest of her life. One of only few humans that was not bred in Cain, Wavorly knows freedom better than anyone, and she is determined to escape the clutches of her oppressors, even if by the hands of death.

But surprises lay beyond every certainty, and within every doubt. Where Wavorly's hatred for both vampires and her enslavement once flowed free as blood, it merely trickles as she grows to admire her reserved, yet receptive master and savior, Anton Zein.

However, danger lurks in the castle, and a prophecy calls from beyond the walls of a lavender gate—concealing the horrific secrets lodged between handsome smirks and cinereous eyes. It will take everything within Wavorly to face her fears and her doubts; to harness the truth of her past despite what that means for her future. The only question is, will she?

Championed as this decade's fresh twist on vampires, A Violet Fire is sure to surprise you.

Read More »